Gmail Restored! What now for the future?


Received 2 November:

Hello,
Thanks for your report. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have
experienced. The issue you described should now be resolved. If you
continue to experience difficulties, please respond to this message, and
we’ll investigate further.

Sincerely,

The Google Team

Now I am VERY pleased to get my accounts back – but – why? The accounts were disabled without an explanation and re-enabled – without an explanation. Should this make me happy – or confused – or mad?

Maybe I shouldn’t look a gift horse in the mouth 🙂

I note that I am not the only one who has experienced this “phenomenon”. Multiple reports are around in the Internet including ones on Cnet’s News.com , a classic one at Google Blogscoped , and that story on ZDnet.

So where to from here? I guess there are multiple options, including abandoning Gmail. BUT I don’t really want to do that – the search capability is too valuable, and the price is unbeatable!

So – Guess I go double (Quadruple?) redundancy. All mail going to my main gmail archive will also be forwarded to another gmail account. Together with my Home PC mail files and their backup on a secondary PC that should help prevent further major problems?

Importantly, the second Gmail archive will be opened independently; that is – not from an invitation from my first account. It seems Gmail may disable all subsidiary accounts as well as a main one!

 

5 thoughts on “Gmail Restored! What now for the future?

  1. Pingback: The Silent Deep » Blog Archive » Gmail enabled!

  2. I’ve been using Gmail for about years, and I liked it and it’s features very much. But 3 days ago I CHANGED MY OLD PASSWORD and the next day I COULDN’T REMEMBER THE NEW ONE. I followed the instructions and filled in some forms, but failed to find my password. After I shrank my brain after some hours, fortunatelly I remembered my password, but WHEN TRIED TO SING IN to gmail it said SORRY, YOUR ACCOUNT IS DISABLED. How can I have my account back? Now I remember all my dettails but my account can’t be back, and there isn’t any help how to mail them and give them my personal info so that they may believe. What can I do?

  3. Pingback: Gmail enabled! | The Silent Deep

  4. Pingback: Gmail enabled! | Wet Scalpel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.